Picture of trees
The local DMV vehicle registration office would like our valued customers to know a few changes that have taken place…. As most of you know, this July will be 1 year since we changed our hours. We have had a lot of positive feedback since we are open longer hours for everyone.  
Monday -Wednesday   7am to 5pm
Thursdays  7am to 4:30pm
Closed Friday – Sunday and all Holidays

We have done Parks and Rec again for a while, which are boats and off-road vehicles, but only till 3:30pm Monday – Thursday. 

Title fees will be increasing July 1st from $14.00 to $19.50, this $5.50 increase will go directly to your local office to help keep the local office open. Boise is centralizing their system for online transactions but unfortunately if our customers do, then we will be losing positions and a chance of our DMV closing, there will no longer be a local office. SO COME IN!!!  We would love to see you. 

The Motor Vehicles Department is located at 2200 Michigan Avenue. Our office hours are 7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. Monday through Wednesday, and 7:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. on Thursday.  (Closed Fridays and  Holidays)

Clearwater County Vehicle Licensing, a division of the Assessor’s  Office, interfaces with the Idaho Transportation Department,  and the Idaho State Tax Commission to provide the public with all aspects of titling and registration of vehicles. 

All vehicles that are operated or pulled on public highways must be titled, including cars, trucks, motorcycles, motor homes, travel trailers, off road motorcycles, snowmobiles and all terrain vehicles.

Any boat with a permanently attached mode of propulsion (inboard, inboard/outboard, sailboat, personal watercraft) of 2000 model year or newer that was purchased since January 1, 2000, must be titled.  Model year 1999 and older boats with a permanently attached mode of propulsion may be optionally titled, if they are not exempt from titling.  Any motorized boat used on Idaho waterways must be registered.

To title and register your vehicle for the first time, you will need to bring the vehicle title and a bill of sale. We will collect the sales tax from the sale at that time, if it has not been previously collected. If the title is an out of state title, you need to bring the vehicle in for a VIN inspection. You must title your vehicle within 30 days of date of purchase to avoid a $20 penalty. If you purchased your vehicle from an Idaho dealer, please bring the pink slip.

New residents to Idaho should apply for an Idaho title within 90 days of establishing residency.  Please bring the following documents to the DMV:  current title to the vehicle, vehicle identification number inspection done by the any law enforcement office or vehicle licensing office, odometer reading unless the vehicles is 10 years old or older.  If your title is being held by a lien holder, we will need their address and vehicle information so that we may send for the title.

About This Department
Assessor: Susan Spencer
Address:  2200 Michigan Ave
                Orofino, ID 83544
Mailing: PO Box 626
              Orofino, ID 83544
Phone: 208-476-4912
Fax: 208-476-8908
Office Hours: 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday-Wednesday
                      7:00 AM to 4:30 PM Thursday